audience feedback for film poster

As my poster is more or less finished (with room for improvement) I thought I would informally ask  around 10 members of my target audience simply what they think of the poster/what they think the film would be about. Plus, whether I need to move the date to the bottom left hand corner.

This is the verbal feedback that I got:

“I like the positioning of the actor’s names”

“I don’t think you need to move the date to the bottom left hand corner, it goes well with the billing block”

“The font looks very similar to that of a sci-fi film”

“I would be confused on what the film is about”

“The Mcdonald’s cup and cigarette alludes to the fact is a parody about teenagers”

I am relatively pleased with the swift verbal feedback that I got.

verbal feedbackkk

Should I move the date?

Around 8/10 said I should keep the date where it is, purely because it flows well with the billing block. They also didn’t seem to mind that it wasn’t symmetrical, saying that they “wouldn’t have noticed.” 

f vr6 fmy

Placing of the actor’s names:

I am pleased they liked the positioning of the actor’s names, particularly because on my draft I planned to place them under the title. However, as I finally got in the midst of creating it, I realised that I had some unwanted space above the title that I could fit the actor’s names perfectly in. Although this was against my plan, I was confident it would still have the right ‘look’ about it, as placing actor’s names above the title is very common in many film posters. Below you can see popular film posters with the actor’s names placed right at the top of the poster, including one from the mockumentary film ‘I’m Still Here’ that I analysed previously.

juno_ver2im still here

Confusion on the content of my short film: 

This answer may have been a ‘one off’ because 1 of the 5 members of my target audience stated they were confused on the nature of my film, which I can understand. I did originally plan to have my actors on the front of my film poster (you can see one of my original plans below), but a conversation with my teacher made me realise that this was completely unconventional to the genre I was aiming for.

DCIM100MEDIA

The mockumentary is a parody of the nature programme ‘Planet Earth‘, which evidently focuses on our world and the environment around us. If I were going to utilise an idea similar to this I would have to ensure my film poster linked with conventions of the genre. If ‘Planet Earth’ did have a film poster, it certainly wouldn’t have characters on it. It would use an image of the environment spoken about in the documentary. This is a DVD cover for ‘Planet Earth’, it alludes to the fact that it is factual documentary and obviously will focus on our planet.

PlanetearthdvdThis conversation made me realise that using an image of the location I shot most of my film on would be a far more conventional route for my film poster. However, I felt that a long shot of a typical high street/pathway/alleyway would be far too boring for a film poster, plus, I wanted to add a humourous element to allow the audience to gage that it is supposed to be a mockumentary. So, adding in a Mcdonald’s cup and a cigarette (both easily associated with today’s teenagers) would add an extra comedic element.

 

Leave a Reply

